Every Thomas, Chick, and Henry

This weekend was quite busy.  We had to leave early for the West Sound Small Farm Expo so the sheep had breakfast in bed and the chickens were freed from their coops after we left by a kind neighbor. A full day of classes (Perma-culture 101, You are What You Eat: Carcass Evaluation and Quality Assurance, Chicken or the Egg? Poultry processing, egg handling, and feed inspections, and Sweet Rewards: Beekeeping and Pollination) and an absolutely scrumptious lunch served by the culinary department at Olympic College in Bremerton.

I probably shouldn’t describe the lunch to you because it will make whatever flimsy sandwich you had Saturday look woeful.  But I will anyway: Our choice of four soups – Beef and Barley, Borscht, Curry, and Navy Bean and Ham; Four Salads – Spinach with Grapefruit and Cheese, Beet Salad, Couscous Salad, and Kimchee Coleslaw; and either either Apple Crumble or Pear Crumble for Dessert.

************************************************************************************************************************
Gotta step away. I do believe the chickens are stealing food.  Explains their absence a few minutes ago.  Be right back. Yup, food filching going on.

***********************************************************************************************************************

The centerpieces were really cute, bell peppers hollowed out as vases with greens and a cheery flower.  I’ll have to remember this if my hostess gene ever kicks in:

Image

Sunday was a day off for me. The perfect opportunity to check out a local church. I decided to go to the 11:00 service so J and I were checking out good pasture plants for chickens on-line before I left. So I said to her, “Okay, I’ve googled good fodder for pastured Christians.” I must of had church on the brain. It is an interesting concept (once you get past visions of folks in their Sunday best grazing their way through a field). Maybe a good topic for a later blog. My starter list for good pasture fodder for Christians is manna, locusts, and honey.

I finally began my Alice Starmore Capillifolium Tam. The yarn was purchased three years ago as a kit where you received enough yarn for two of the baby bonnets (Piecework magazine January/February 2009) and an adult sized tam. The directions for the tam came with the yarn and you used the color charts in the magazine. The bonnets were made for my two youngest nieces who are now three and I never made the tam for myself. This photo gives you an idea of the colors, I’m a bit further along than what you see here:

IMG_0385

Check out the baby bonnet here:

Henry is the barred rock rooster. He’s quite large and full of himself. I have suggested changing his name to Stuart so we can call him Stu (as in chicken stew) for short. He is ill tempered and you are advised to carry a stick around him. Though, I do have to admit, he is quite handsome:

IMG_0390

And to finish out this post, here is our final character, Thomas. He was hired to kill voles but is kind of a pushover:

IMG_0387

Good day chickens, good day sheep.

One thought on “Every Thomas, Chick, and Henry

Leave a Reply

