Just Pluggin’ On

I’m a terrible journal keeper. It all started as a child when I read The Diary of Anne Frank. How cool to have somebody read all about your life long after you were dead and buried. I cry every time I read it.

So, every year for Christmas I would receive a new diary. The kind with the cheesy little lock to keep prying eyes out, which I probably didn’t need ‘cause usually my entries only made it as far as January 3rd. My life was not nearly as interesting as Anne Frank, Corrie Ten Boom, Bachelor Bess, or any other published diaries I have read over the years.

One entry stands out (I think I made it to January 7th that year). It reads, “When I grow up I am going to be an artist.” Another terribly romantic notion. And I did just that. Ah, the life of a starving artist. Rushing from one bohemian party to the next, living on Oreos and love, and all in some place spectacular like New York or Paris. May my muse never leave.

Time for a reality check.  I live in a little cabin that is falling apart and my landlord just put the property up for sale. My car is 21 years old. I work in a job I could have taken out of high school plus a part-time job to make ends meet. The good news is, I don’t have to live on Oreos and I do live in the spectacular Pacific Northwest. And, I’m an artist.

The even better news is that Pacific Northwest is full of creative individuals and I have some pretty cool friends. I love being surrounded by other creative people, especially other fiber artists.

My friend Gina Johannesson just published the most beautiful cabled ruana pattern. You can purchase it here:

 http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ginas-ruana

You may recognize my friend Sheila Joyne’s Fair Isle Patterns from the pages of Vogue Knitting Fall 2010:

 http://sheilaluvs2knit.typepad.com/sheila_luvs_to_knit_/2010/08/early-preview-of-vogue-knitting-fall-issue-is-up-check-out-my-hat-design.html

More of her designs are available here:

 http://sheilaluvs2knit.typepad.com/sheila_luvs_to_knit_/

And of course, I must plug my own shops and designs:

www.theDarkSideofCute.etsy.com

and

http://www.ravelry.com/designers/andrea-brush

That’s just me for now.

Leave a Reply

