Working, Working Out, Working it in, and so on….

Blogging has had to take a back seat these last few weeks, eight to be exact.  Eight weeks ago I fully realized I needed to get my rear in gear and make a commitment to big changes.  Well one big change.  I had to get active again. 

You see, a few years ago I lost a lot of weight and was feeling great.  I had changed my eating habits and upped my activity level by taking up belly dance.  Then almost two years ago due to some car repairs (one of the challenges of driving a much-loved, very-old, sports car) my budget no longer allowed for the dance lessons.  Add to that taking on a part-time job in addition to my full-time job I no longer had time to cook healthy meals and began buying takeout again.  It wasn’t long before I was back up almost to my previous weight and feeling pretty crummy about myself.

I spent the first half of this year trying to find a walking partner.  Though well-intentioned most of my walking partners fell by the wayside due to life (which I’ve discovered has a nasty habit of interfering in good intentions.) Everything from time available, not having the right shoes, to weather and so on cropped up.  During this time about once a week I was receiving email from Prevention magazine promoting their Walk of the Weight Program. 

I sucked up and bought it along with the podcasts and hit the track.  A local high school track, that is.  Every morning by 6:30 at first (the workouts were only 20 minutes) and now by 5:30 (the workouts are only a little longer, but  I’ve worked in time to enjoy a coffee before work.) 

I started noticing changes right away.  My energy level shot way up, my muscles were making a reappearance, and the weight began dropping off.  My jaw line came back first and my muffin-top (it was hard to admit I had developed one) just disappeared.  And that was  in the first couple weeks.  I am at the end of the eight week program and will continue on as I still have a way to go.  November 20th is the end of my second eight weeks.

Another plus?  Because of my new-found energy and the opportunity to ease into my day (I have never, ever, been a morning person; just see what happens when you talk to me too soon in the morning) it’s easier to head into work and be at my best.

The downside?  I can’t stay awake at night like I used to so I have less time to knit, crochet, spin, design, and blog.  But, wow, I feel good.

Leave a Reply

